Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.

New Look to NFU Scotland’s Board of Directors

Article date: 
08 February 2017
News Article Number: 
Board of Directors 2017

There is a new look to NFU Scotland Board of Directors.

At yesterday’s Council meeting in Glasgow (7 February), Dumfriesshire farmer Andrew McCornick was elected the 62nd President of NFU Scotland. Perthshire farmer Martin Kennedy and Gary Mitchell from Wigtownshire are the Union’s new Vice Presidents.

The presidential position is held for two years and a President can serve a maximum of two consecutive two-year terms.  Anyone elected to the position of Vice President for the first time, will initially serve for two years before the post reverts to an annual election.  That means NFU Scotland’s new Presidential team will be unchanged until at least spring 2019.  

A significant number of other changes to regional and committee roles means that the Union’s board has many new faces.  New regional chairmen include Rupert Shaw (Dumfries & Galloway); Willie Harper (Forth & Clyde); Martin Birse (Highland); Kelvin Pate (Lothian & Borders); David Winton (North East) and Jim Nicolson (Orkney & Shetland).  The new chairman of the Union’s influential Milk Committee is Cumbernauld producer James Rankin, Badenheath, who replaces Graeme Kilpatrick.

Notes to Editors

The members of the Board of Directors at NFU Scotland for 2017/18 are:

President – Andrew McCornick, Barnbackle, Lochfoot, Dumfries
Vice President – Martin Kennedy, Lurgan, Edradynate, Aberfeldy
Vice President – Gary Mitchell, West Galdenoch, Stoneykirk, Stranraer
Treasurer – Gerald Banks, Fridayhill, Maud
Chief Executive – Scott Walker

Regional Board Chairmen
Argyll & The Islands – John Dickson, Scalpsie, Rothesay, Bute
Ayrshire – Jimmy Ireland, Feoch Farm, Darvel
Dumfries & Galloway – Rupert Shaw, Gledpark, Borgue (replacing Gary Mitchell)
East Central – Roddy Kennedy, Borlick, Killiechassie, Aberfeldy
Forth & Clyde – Willie Harper, Gryffewraes, Bridge of Weir (replacing Tom French, Balgray, Crawfordjohn, Biggar)
Highland – Martin Birse, Pitgaveny Farms, Elgin (replacing Jim Whiteford, Shandwick Mains, Tain
Lothian & Borders – Kelvin Pate, Aikeyside Farm, Haddington (replacing Stuart McNicol, Castleton Farm, North Berwick)
North East – David Winton, Haugh of Birse, Aboyne (replacing Roddy Catto, Hillhead of Muirton, Aberdeen)
Orkney & Shetland – Regional Chairman - Jim Nicolson, Lonabrek, Aith, Shetland (replacing Paul Ross, Lenahowe, Sandwick); Regional Vice Chairman - David Scarth, Twatt Farm, Orkney

Committee Chairmen

Combinable Crops – Ian Sands, Townhead, Balbeggie, Perth
Environment & Land Use – Angus MacFadyen, Bragleenmore, Oban
Legal & Technical – Jamie Smart, Balderston, Linlithgow
Less Favoured Areas – Martin Kennedy, Lurgan, Edradynate, Aberfeldy
Livestock – Charlie Adam, Braeside, Cushnie, Alford, Aberdeenshire
Milk – James Rankin, Badenheath, Cumbernauld (replacing Graeme Kilpatrick, Craigie Mains, Kilmarnock)
Pigs & Poultry – Kevin Gilbert, Womblehill, Kintore, Inverurie
Specialist Crops – James Porter, East Scryne, Carnoustie

A group photograph of the new board of directors is available on request from


Contact Bob Carruth on 0131 472 4006

NFUS Members

Members' Area

Latest information on your farming sector, committee information & forthcoming events.

Not registered on our site before? - Register Now.

forgotten your password? click here.

View from the Top

Headline farm income figures may suggest things are turning around but they always require careful... 

Updated 3 weeks agoread this blog »

Check out the NFUS Marketplace

©2017 NFUS. Copyright Policy. All Rights Reserved