Forward-Thinking Farmer Could Win £4000

Entries for Future Farmer Award close soon

The search is on to find Scotland’s Future Farmer 2013, which attracts a £4000 prize.

The Future Farming Award aims to recognise and reward a farmer or farm business that can demonstrate forward thinking, passion and dedication to the farming industry in a way that also shows how farming and the environment can work hand in hand.

The award, which is run by the Elizabeth Murray Trust in association with NFU Scotland and Quality Scotland, invites farmers, crofters and land managers to apply or nominate a fellow farmer.

The winning farmer or farm business will receive £4000, a commemorative plaque in recognition of their innovative farming practice and a package of support to help them promote their ideas to other farmers and land managers and champion Scottish farming.

The deadline for applications is Friday 22 March 2013 and the winner will be recognised at Quality Scotland’s annual Scottish Awards for Business Excellence ceremony in June.
Chairman of the Elizabeth Murray Trust, Harvey Macmillan said:

“Through this award, we want to demonstrate just how crucial farming and crofting activity is to our countryside, from both a commercial and an environmental perspective.

“The Award aims to showcase ways in which Scotland can produce food, energy, fibre and timber from farms and crofts in a commercially viable way while maintaining the natural capital of the land.

"The accolade looks to reward a farmer or land manager, young or old, male or female, livestock or arable for their contribution to the industry. The judges are looking for anything that represents new or innovative ideas within farming.

“I therefore encourage direct entries or third party nominations that can help us to promote how dynamic and adaptable the Scottish farming industry is.”


  • The 2013 Future Farmer Award is now open for applications and closes on Friday 22 March 2013.
  • For more information, please visit  or contact Michael Williams, Eaglescairnie Mains, Haddington, East Lothian, EH41 4HN T: 01620 810 491 M: 07713 333193
  • Previous winners of the award include Andrew Rennie, Gask, Turriff (2011); Arnold Park, Drinkstone, Hawick (2010); Amanda Cayle, Chris and Denise Walton, Peelham Farm, Berwickshire (2009) and Peter Ritchie and Heather Anderson, Whitmuir, Peebles.


Contact Sarah Anderson on 0131 472 4108

Date Published:

News Article No.: 38/13

< Article List


Report Abusive Comment

Comment Content:

Why it offends me (optional):

Have Your Say

No-one has commented on this article yet. Be the first to have your say...

New Comment


Total Pages:
Total Results:
Page Start:
Page Result #:

©NFU Scotland • All Rights Reserved • Web design by Big Red DigitalLog in


Contact Us




No Robots:

This form collects and sends the information supplied to NFU Scotland. You can read our privacy policy for full details on how we protect and manage your data.
  I consent to having NFU Scotland collect the above details.