Fresh Look to Union’s Board of Directors

Following last week’s AGM in St Andrews, Fife, NFU Scotland has a new look to its Board of Directors.

The Presidential team, led by President Allan Bowie with Vice Presidents Rob Livesey and Andrew McCornick are unchanged but long-serving Treasurer George Lawrie has been replaced by Buchan farmer and consultant Gerald Banks.

In other changes, chairmanship of Ayrshire region returns to Jimmy Ireland from Feoch, Darvel who replaces John Wildman.  Mr Wildman has stepped down as he relocates to manage a farming operation in Dumfries and Galloway.  Argyll & The Islands also has a new chairman, with John Dickson from Bute replacing John Semple from Lochgilphead, who steps down having served five years.

The new chairman of the Union’s important Environment and Land Use Committee also comes from Argyll with Angus MacFadyen, Bragleenmore, Kilninver near Oban taking over from the post previously held by new Treasurer Gerald Banks.

Notes to Editors

  • The members of the Board of Directors at NFU Scotland for 2016/17 are:
    Chief Executive – Scott Walker
    President – Allan Bowie, The Haining, St Andrews
    Vice President – Rob Livesey, Firth Farm, Lilliesleaf, Melrose
    Vice President – Andrew McCornick, Barnbackle, Lochfoot, Dumfries
    Treasurer – Gerald Banks, Fridayhill, Maud


  • Regional Board Chairmen
    Argyll & The Islands – John Dickson, Scalpsie, Rothesay, Bute
    Ayrshire – Jimmy Ireland, Feoch Farm, Darvel
    Dumfries & Galloway – Gary Mitchell, West Galdenoch, Stoneykirk, Stranraer
    East Central – Roddy Kennedy, Borlick, Killiechassie, Aberfeldy
    Forth & Clyde – Tom French, Balgray, Crawfordjohn, Biggar
    Highland – Jim Whiteford, Shandwick Mains, Tain
    Lothian & Borders – Stuart McNicol, Castleton Farm, North Berwick
    North East – Roddy Catto, Hillhead of Muirton, Aberdeen
    Orkney & Shetland – Paul Ross, Lenahowe, Sandwick


  • Committee Chairmen
    Combinable Crops – Ian Sands, Townhead, Balbeggie, Perth
    Environment & Land Use – Angus MacFadyen, Bragleenmore, Kilninver, Oban
    Legal & Technical – Jamie Smart, Balderston, Linlithgow
    Less Favoured Areas – Martin Kennedy, Lurgan, Edradynate, Aberfeldy
    Livestock – Charlie Adam, Braeside, Cushnie, Alford, Aberdeenshire
    Milk – Graeme Kilpatrick, Craigie Mains, Kilmarnock
    Pigs & Poultry – Kevin Gilbert, Womblehill, Kintore, Inverurie
    Specialist Crops – to be confirmed
  • A group photograph of the new board of directors is available on request from
  • A separate news release on Gerald Banks appointment as Treasurer, taking over from George Lawrie can be found at:


Contact Bob Carruth on 0131 472 4006

Date Published:

News Article No.: 45/16

< Article List


Report Abusive Comment

Comment Content:

Why it offends me (optional):

Have Your Say

No-one has commented on this article yet. Be the first to have your say...

New Comment


Total Pages:
Total Results:
Page Start:
Page Result #:

©NFU Scotland • All Rights Reserved • Web design by Big Red DigitalLog in


Contact Us




No Robots:

This form collects and sends the information supplied to NFU Scotland. You can read our privacy policy for full details on how we protect and manage your data.
  I consent to having NFU Scotland collect the above details.